top of page

Subscribe Form

Stay up to date

  • Writer's picturemaisierosereads

Transathon progress and Reading Rush plans! (Mid-July check-in)

Updated: Jul 20, 2020

Hi bookish friends!


How's July going for you?


This month, I've been taking part in my first ever readathon: the Transathon.


There are 9 prompts, and I'm trying to read at least 9 separate books to fill them. In case you haven't seen them or need a reminder of what they are, here are the prompts:


1) A book written by a trans woman. 2) A book written by a nonbinary person. 3) A book written by a trans man. 4) A book with a trans main character. 5) A nonfiction trans book. 6) A book with a nonbinary main character. 7) A book with multiple trans characters. 8) A book with the word 'trans' in the title. 9) A graphic novel with a trans character.




The books I've read so far this month (which have trans/nonbinary authors and/or characters) are:


An Unkindness of Ghosts by Rivers Solomon [goodreads]

  • Written by a nonbinary person

  • Multiple trans characters (one of whom is intersex)

All Boys Aren't Blue by George M. Johnson [goodreads]

  • Written by a nonbinary person

  • Non-fiction (it's a YA memoir manifesto)

Gumballs by Erin Nations [goodreads]

  • Written by a trans man

  • A collection of comic strips, most of which are non-fiction

Peter Darling by S. A. Chant [goodreads] - I did actuallly read this back in 2017, but wanted to reread it!

  • Written by a nonbinary person

  • Trans MC

I'm also 75% of the way through The City in the Middle of the Night by Charlie Jane Anders [goodreads]

  • Written by a trans woman

I still have a few prompts to fill, and that's going to be my focus for the rest of July. I've spent my book budget for the month so I'm going to try to fill as many prompts as possible with books I already own, books on Kindle Unlimited, and books I can borrow from my local library (or friends).


Thankfully I'll have more time to do that from today; the summer holidays have officially started, so I have 6 weeks off work! Which is also excellent timing because the Reading Rush is next week. Why take part in one readathon when I can take part in two simultaneously?


I'm going to try to complete as many Reading Rush challenges as possible with books which meet at least one Transathon prompt. For example, I'm hoping to get my hands on a copy of The Deep by Rivers Solomon, which I could use for two Rush challenges (title starts with "the", cover is blue like my birth stone) and at least one Transathon prompt (written by a nonbinary author).


If you have any suggestions for more trans books I should read - not just this month of course - please do let me know in the comments. If you're also taking part in the Transathon, how are you getting on?


Also, please feel free to look me up on the Reading Rush site if you're also taking part - here's a link to my profile! What books are you planning to read?


Happy reading!


Maisie Rose x

3 views0 comments
bottom of page