top of page

Subscribe Form

Stay up to date

  • Writer's picturemaisierosereads

Girl, Serpent, Thorn by Melissa Bashardoust [Review]

Hi bookish friends!


Sorry I haven't posted in a couple of days - I haven't had as much time to read as Days 1-3 because we've been super busy getting ready to move house next week!


That being said, I have managed to read a few chapters a day of Girl, Serpent, Thorn by Melissa Bashardoust (goodreads) in between all the paperwork, and I read the final three chapters this morning.



I bought my hardback copy of this book about a week ago, and started reading it on Wednesday (Day 3 of The Reading Rush). I'd heard so many good things about it that I was worried my expectations were too high, but I enjoyed it right from the start. It only gets better as the characters and plot develop.


The main character is Soraya, the firstborn daughter of the Shah and his wife who was cursed by a div (pronounced deev) to be poisonous to the touch. Her twin brother, Sorush (who at the time the story is set has taken over as Shah), was not cursed. Soraya has spent her life so far hidden away in the shadows of one of the palaces to protect her family's reputation while Sorush lives out in the open and travels the country with their mother; but when Sorush returns to Golvahar one Spring, he brings with him a young man who is not afraid of Soraya, and a div who may have the answers she needs to understand her curse.


There is an author's note (from page 313 in my hardback copy) where Bashardoust explains all of her influences and the ways she chose to use different aspects of the Shahnameh, zoroastrianism, and Persian languages (from ancient to modern day) in her work. I'm really glad that she included this section; it was very educational and led to me appreciating the book even more!


As well as being a beautifully told YA fantasy inspired by Persian culture, folklore, history, and mythology? With complex characters who have strong motivations and undergo excellent development? This story is sapphic in such a gorgeous way (and not in order to create shock, angst, or tension!)


In case it wasn't clear, I gave Girl, Serpent, Thorn 5 stars and highly recommend reading it.


If you've read it already, let me know if you enjoyed it as much as I did.


If you haven't, let me know what makes you want to read it! For me, the deciding factor was seeing so many sapphic readers praising it. This queer woman loves to read about queer women, after all!


Happy reading,


Maisie Rose x

29 views5 comments
bottom of page