top of page

Subscribe Form

Stay up to date

  • Writer's picturemaisierosereads

Day 3 (Reading Rush 2020)

Hi bookish friends!

I haven’t been able to spend much of today reading (for exciting reasons relating to yesterday’s house viewing!) so just a short update from me today.

This morning I asked Twitter which book I should start/continue reading. The votes were split between Girl, Serpent, Thorn by Melissa Bashardoust and Rainbow Milk by Paul Mendez but Girl, Serpent, Thorn won in the end!

I was a bit late getting started today – I watched some videos over on booktube for a couple of hours, then got distracted because our kitten kept using my book (and me) as a pillow.

I decided to make a cup of tea inspired by the book cover to drink while I read – a mix of 1tsp loose leaf white tea (Pai Mu Tan from T2) and 1tsp dried rose petals – and took it down to the courtyard to read.

At about 3:30pm (part way through chapter 4) I was interrupted, and couldn’t pick my book back up until 8pm. That just so happened to be when a reading sprint was due to start via Twitter, so I decided to join in! Misty very graciously let me cuddle up to him on the sofa while I read.

Photograph: a large grey cat lying on a sofa facing the camera. Next to him is a copy of Girl Serpent Thorn in front of a cushion which says "Together is my favourite place to be".

Overall I’ve read 75 pages of Girl, Serpent, Thorn today. I’m enjoying it so far and looking forward to seeing what happens – I know I’ll be picking it up as soon as I wake up tomorrow!

I’ll be listening to an audiobook while I get ready for bed tonight so I can rest my eyes, though. I started listening to Braiding Sweetgrass: Indigenous Wisdom, Scientific Knowledge, and the Teachings of Plants by Robin Wall Kimmerer [goodreads] a few nights ago. I picked it up as a VIP Reward on audiobooks.com and highly recommend it in audio format. It’s narrated by the author, who is a Potawatomi botanist with a beautiful way with words both out loud and on the page. If you want a taster, she was a guest on Ologies recently to talk about bryology (moss)!

Happy reading,

Maisie Rose x

1 view0 comments
bottom of page