top of page

Subscribe Form

Stay up to date

  • Writer's picturemaisierosereads

Day 3 (Reading Rush 2020)

Hi bookish friends!


I haven't been able to spend much of today reading (for exciting reasons relating to yesterday's house viewing!) so just a short update from me today.


This morning I asked Twitter which book I should start/continue reading. The votes were split between Girl, Serpent, Thorn by Melissa Bashardoust and Rainbow Milk by Paul Mendez but Girl, Serpent, Thorn won in the end!


I was a bit late getting started today - I watched some videos over on booktube for a couple of hours, then got distracted because our kitten kept using my book (and me) as a pillow.



I decided to make a cup of tea inspired by the book cover to drink while I read - a mix of 1tsp loose leaf white tea (Pai Mu Tan from T2) and 1tsp dried rose petals - and took it down to the courtyard to read.



At about 3:30pm (part way through chapter 4) I was interrupted, and couldn't pick my book back up until 8pm. That just so happened to be when a reading sprint was due to start via Twitter, so I decided to join in! Misty very graciously let me cuddle up to him on the sofa while I read.



Overall I've read 75 pages of Girl, Serpent, Thorn today. I'm enjoying it so far and looking forward to seeing what happens - I know I'll be picking it up as soon as I wake up tomorrow!


I'll be listening to an audiobook while I get ready for bed tonight so I can rest my eyes, though. I started listening to Braiding Sweetgrass: Indigenous Wisdom, Scientific Knowledge, and the Teachings of Plants by Robin Wall Kimmerer [goodreads] a few nights ago. I picked it up as a VIP Reward on audiobooks.com and highly recommend it in audio format. It's narrated by the author, who is a Potawatomi botanist with a beautiful way with words both out loud and on the page. If you want a taster, she was a guest on Ologies recently to talk about bryology (moss)!


Happy reading,


Maisie Rose x

2 views0 comments
bottom of page