top of page

Subscribe Form

Stay up to date

  • Writer's picturemaisierosereads

Day 2 (Reading Rush 2020)

Hi bookish friends!


How are you all today?


For the second day of the Reading Rush, I started another new book: The Deep by Rivers Solomon (goodreads).


I chose this book to cover two challenges:

  • Read a book with a cover that matches the colour of your birth stone.

  • Read a book that starts with the word “The”.


I was born in September so my birthstone is sapphire. The cover of The Deep is a beautiful illustration by Micah Epstein in a palette of oceanic colours, mostly blue. My fiancée's engagement ring also happens to be set with a deep blue sapphire. It's a pretty close match to the colour of the wajinru's tail.




An Unkindness of Ghosts was the first book I read for the Transathon this month. I listened to the audiobook and fell in love with Rivers Solomon's writing style, world building, character development, and general use of language. I quickly added The Deep to my wishlist. I made it two whole weeks before deciding to treat myself to a copy.


If you follow me on social media you will know that I loved The Deep. I couldn't read it in one sitting because of other commitments (including going to view a maisonette that we're hoping to rent🤞) but nonetheless, I read it whenever I had chance. I started it with breakfast in the courtyard and finished it before dinner in the lounge.



In their afterword, clipping. describe The Deep as the product of a game of whispers. It started with the true, tragic history of pregnant people stolen from Africa and intentionally thrown into the ocean on the way to being sold as slaves. This contributed to the mythology of Drexciya, which inspired clipping. to write the song "The Deep", which inspired Rivers Solomon to write this book. Listening to this music and reading clipping.'s afterword definitely helped to flesh out the world in which Solomon's story is set.


I can't say much more than the blurb about the plot of The Deep without spoilers. But know that it is a beautifully told story of learning to heal from trauma and loss, as well as learning to appreciate the importance of cultural history. There is some sapphic romance in there too, and the Wajinru do not have a binary construct of sex or gender.


Content warnings: mentions of self injury and suicidal ideation.


Have you read The Deep? Please let me know what you thought of it!


I don't have set books picked out to read for the rest of this week, other than staying on schedule with the Stamped From the Beginning readalong. I have a couple of books which I'm part way through already (e.g. Rainbow Milk and Easier Ways to Say I Love You), but I do want to start reading Girl, Serpent, Thorn. I'm also expecting my Queer Book Box any day now, and I've been told this month's book will be suitable for the Transathon!


I'll probably either choose my next read blindly or ask you to choose for me in a Twitter poll!


Until tomorrow, happy reading.


Maisie Rose x

9 views0 comments
bottom of page